God Uses Potty Training for my Sanctification

God is good. Not because I say He is. He is good because He is and He proclaims it as truth. That pretty much settles it.

But He has shown me recently that He is. He humbles me in humorous ways.

My family is trying to potty train our two year old daughter, Natalie. It’s been interesting. Last week she took off her diaper in her room, pooped, and then paraded through it before letting me know. After her bath, and scrubbing her poopy footprints off the carpet I let her know of my displeasure concerning her actions. No, No Natalie! No pooping on the floor! That’s just a good rule for all of us at the Taylor household.

The next morning, our four year old woke me up at 7:00 a.m. to tell me that Natalie had pooped on the floor again. Again? You’ve got to be kidding me. Before breakfast?

So I walk into the family room to discover her discarded but clean diaper. As I walked into the bathroom I saw her waste prominently displayed on the rug as if it were a work of art. Really? She had to do it right there? Two feet either to the right or left and cleaning up the tile would have been much easier.

At this point, I’m angry. Not mad, angry! I began to pick it up and clean the floor. She was three feet from the toilet. Why didn’t she just keep going? She knows that this is wrong. I had made it abundantly clear the day before that the Taylor’s DO NOT poop on the floor. It is simply unacceptable. Why did she do this? What was she thinking as she looked at the potty and shook it off like a pitcher determined to throw a fast ball rather than the curve?

That’s when God used the moment for my sanctification. He clearly said this to me. “You do this every day Heath.” “My commands are clear. You know them well. Yet you continue to ‘poop on the floor’ every day with sin in your life don’t you? I ask you why and you give me your daughter’s little shoulder shrug and downcast eyes. As if to say I don’t know why I did it. I don’t know why I chose to disobey. Sorry. And what is my response to you? How do I interact with you when you poop in your pants or on the floor or in your bed?”

God’s words cut deep into my soul. Because rather than fierce deserved wrath or anger, He makes His mercies new every morning. He has said so in His word. (Lam. 3:22) He passes over my sin and pardons my iniquities. (Micah 7:18) He removes my sin as far as the east is from the west. (Ps. 103:11-12) He forgets my sin and remembers it no more. (Jer. 31:34)

He simply requires my confession and repentance. He is good, not only because I see and experience it in my life, but because He is. An because He is, I do see and experience His love, goodness, grace and mercy. I have come to agree with David that it is sweeter than honey and better than life!

By the way, Natalie was sorry. She owned up to it and confessed her poopy disobedience. And repentance? Well, we’ve gone three days without discovering her waste scattered about and displayed on the floor. That my life, and obedience to God and purging of sin in my soul would go so well. I encourage all of us to embrace sanctification and the refining fire of a loving God in your life until the great day of glorification when sin will no longer have a place in our lives. He is good! (Ps. 119:65-68, Lam, 3:25-26) He has said so. And I agree!

14 responses to “God Uses Potty Training for my Sanctification

  1. I’m blessed to have a dear friend who has his mind set on glorifying God and seeing God’s goodness in all things… even when his daughter poops on the floor!

  2. I love the way you see God at work in the mundane and ordinary (and even messy) events of life. Believe me, as a song I heard the other day said, “You’re gonna miss this somday, you’r gonna miss this.” Keep gleaning those great truths and get ready for the next one.
    Blessings!!!

  3. Thanks for cleaning it all up! :) You’re awesome like that!

  4. I don’t think I have laughed that hard in a while. Thanks for sharing and keeping it real. You have a way with words and I am looking forward to reading your blog. Even though I still have children at home Ira is right in saying you are going to miss it some day but it is great that you see God teaching you in the moment and are willing to share it with us.

  5. Thanks for visiting Lisa and thanks for EVERYTHING you do. You and Ira (my dad) are right. I will somehow miss this someday. Keep visiting and posting.

  6. Please get that floor poopping thing worked out before we babysit again. Love Ya!

  7. I bet you decided to start a blog just to tell that story didn’t you!! Well done, you have set the bar high for your future posts. Can you find a spiritual analogy for pretending not to notice when my child poops and hoping my wife takes care of it? Preferably one that shows the Godly wisdom of such actions!

  8. So I’m probably gonna thieve…er, borrow… this as an illustration for my youth group or something, okay? good.:) haha.

    just reading these couple of entries makes me realize even more what your sister as well as Jonathan Whitlock have both been telling me for years, that you and i would get along quite well if we were around each other more.:)

  9. OH YEAH, jump on the blog bandwagon, so great bro, enjoyed the post i look forward to many more my friend!!!

  10. Welcome to,”How God uses children to teach lessons to adults 101″. Many times have I heard His voice over my shoulder as I have dealt with my children. I said with impatience to my children, “How many times do I have to tell you this?”. God whispers to me, “How many times have I told you something before you obey?”
    This is one of the reasons I am so passionate about integrating children into the church body.
    God uses them to edify the body of Christ in unexpected ways.

    I hope you get a good response to your blog. God is going to use you in amazing ways! Keep listening and responding!

  11. Here I am, sitting at work, trying to look professional in my uniform, playing the role of the tough guy with my sidearm and handcuffs, all the while crying tears of laughter because of what I just read. Then I had the enjoyable task of trying to explain to everyone around me that it was a pastor’s poop story that had me in stiches. Maybe it’s funny because I don’t have kids of my own, or maybe the mental picture was so cleverly painted for me, but whatever the case, that was AWESOME! “Poopy disobedience…” That’s comedic gold! At least it’s comedic gold to those of us that didn’t have to clean it up.

    Heath, you truly have a gift for teaching in a manner that is entertaining, applicable, and, most importantly, Godly. Great job using the talents with which He has blessed you. Really nice work.

    Semper Fi in Christ

  12. It’s a crappy job, but someone’s gotta do it.

    Welcome to blogdom, bro!

  13. If only I could get my sin into the toilet and flush it away!!

  14. Oh, how I can relate.

    Fortunately, I have my four in the rear view mirror where potty training is concerned and never wanna look back.

    I got all the sanctification I could handle!

    No, if I could just get my 3 year old to master the flush consistently and my 5 year old to improve his aim, then revival would break out.

Leave a Reply

